Real time reaction to a Rickroll

For any of you who haven’t opened up your fair share of internet videos, Rickrolling is a bait and switch, where someone tells you to click on a video that may pertain to something you are discussing, or something that may be of interest to you, but when you click on it you see Rick Astley’s 1987 hit song “Never gonna give you up.”

Why this meme has taken off to such great heights is debated, but I believe it’s the multi-layered reaction one has to it. Allow me to walk you through a typical Rickroll reaction:

“Oh cool behind the scenes video of my favorite TV show!!…”

0:00-0:01: Bum Bum

“Wha…”

0:01-0:02: Bum Bum Bum Bum Bum Bum Bum Bum

“Ah shit!

0:02-0:19: intro plays

“Fuckin Rickrolled again, assholes wasting my time, I’m tryin to watch my videos and this is…”

0:19-0:23: We’re no strangers to love

“annoying as fu…to loooove…” *bobs head*

0:23-0:27: You know the rules, and so do I

“…good fuckin song tho…”

0:27-0:31: A full commitment’s what I’m thinkin of

“…guy’s dance is hilarious…”

0:31-0:35: You wouldn’t get this from any other guy

*Tries and fails to imitate dance* “…Fuckin impossible dance…”

0:35-0:40: I just wanna tell you how I’m feeling

*opens up a new web page, keeps song playing in background*

0:40-1:01: Gotta make you understand, Never gonna give you up, Never gonna let you down…

“Let me get back to what I was looking at and…NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP!!!!! NEVER GONNA LET YOU DOWN!!!!!!!!!” *full on jamming session*

1:01-3:33

Jamming commences, then the music trails off, as if nothing happened. Until next time.

~ by Adam Hughes on May 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
